Shelves logo with tagline blue cropped
Shopping Cart


Additional information


Phyllis R. Dixon



Publication Date

July 25, 2023


Ship to me

Reduced shipping for subscription members

Buy now & pick up in store

Enter your zip code at checkout to see if this item qualifies for Local Pickup or Friday Delivery by Enderly Coffee Co.

In stock


Dreamgirls meets Waiting to Exhale by way of Destiny’s Child with a nostalgic 90s twist!

As glittering as their name, The Diamonds were on the brink of 1990s pop music stardom—until betrayal tore them apart. Now these four very different women are getting a second shot at success. But will reuniting mend their rift—or will lasting secrets, unspoken betrayals, new temptations, and the hard-knocks of today’s music industry destroy them, and their dreams, for good?

Angel. Carmen. Doreen. Jade. Talented Memphis girls who had a brush with pop music fame—guided by Carmen’s warm-hearted mother. But when she was elbowed out for a bigger manager, Carmen walked too. The bitter breakup shattered the Diamonds’ never-easy “sisterhood” —and cost them the big-time.

Now a reunion offers a fresh start, just as mid-life struggles are pushing all four to the brink.

Angel hopes to reignite her failing solo career, but her insatiable ego keeps getting in the way. . . . Carmen was the group’s peacemaker, but with her son in serious trouble, she’s run out of patience. . . . Doreen longs to recapture the highs of performing, minus the drug haze—even as it risks her life as a pastor’s wife. . . . And Jade, always the wallflower, is determined to get recognized this time around.

As the women contend with the new and overwhelming demands of celebrity, they find that the old traps have stayed the same. Can they ever reach true sisterhood—and help each other become the sparkling gems they were meant to be?

Story Locale:Memphis and Dallas

You May Also Like